Evolution and Scientific Profile of our Faculty

The Faculty of Geosciences at the University of Bremen was founded as late as 1986, but has undergone a very dynamic evolution since. From initially three chairs for Geology (G. Wefer), Geophysics (U. Bleil), and Geochemistry and Hydrogeology (H. D. Schulz) with one degree program in Geology/Paleontology, it grew to be an internationally recognized institution for research and science education with eighteen research sections and five modern modular geoscience study programs with applied and marine focus.

Our department now covers the full width of modern geosciences, but emphasizes in climate and ocean dynamics, coastal and sedimentary systems, solid earth and geomaterials, marine geology-geochemistry-geobiology and applied geology.

A very relevant part of our research and teaching is contributed by associated scientists of the Alfred Wegener Institute, Helmholtz Center for Polar and Marine Research (AWI) at Bremerhaven, des Max Planck Institute for Marine Microbiology (MPI) at Bremen, the Center for Marine Biodiversity Senckenberg am Meer (SaM) at Wilhelmshaven, and the Leibniz Center for Tropical Marine Ecology (ZMT) at Bremen. The MARUM – Center for Marine Environmental Sciences has evolved from our faculty and is now an independent research faculty within our university funded by the German Excellence Initiative. Close personal and scientific bonds with MARUM and the associated federal research institutions assure for a competent, practical geoscience education using state-of-the-art methods and covering up-to-date topics.